New Scaratings

Welcome to the new Scaratings
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 7:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Bring Back Passport
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:49 am 
Lotsa Posta

k....long shot,but what the heck.

I like the game, and played it many times on wednesdays. Made me go out & play on Wednesdays. I'd admint that I studied for some of the games, sometimes just to boost the ole ego (Spain, Portugal, Med Countries, Kentucky, Scotland and Chicago).

Bring this one back and drop two Six games.

Yoda.....love the ole days.

Post subject: Re: Bring Back Passport
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:36 am 
Sir or Dame Postalot

MiniYoda wrote:
k....long shot,but what the heck.

I like the game, and played it many times on wednesdays. Made me go out & play on Wednesdays. I'd admint that I studied for some of the games, sometimes just to boost the ole ego (Spain, Portugal, Med Countries, Kentucky, Scotland and Chicago).

Bring this one back and drop two Six games.

Yoda.....love the ole days.

I'd like to see more geography based games as well but not necessarily Passport or Passport in the same format as previous.

Even though I played Passport regularly and enjoyed it, I had two problems with the game:

(1) The first round was completely useless

(2) The game rewarded cramming or use of references instead of using the information that is already in your head..perhaps they could only announce the general area in advance (for example, if the destination is Tuscany, the pre-annoucment would be "Italian Region"). Another possibility is to announce three possibilities like with Playback.

Instead of Passport, my personal preference would be to add 1 or 2 half hour general geography games per week with the questions mixed up from all over the world and a separate half hour game once per week focused on a country or region like the recent Mexico Topix.